You are here : Home / Management


The College of Medicine is one of four constituent Colleges of the University of Malawi. This arrangement gives a great deal of autonomy to the Colleges, which have their own Management and Administrative structures. The College of Medicine has received strong support over the years from the University of Malawi which has respected its unique role in advancing the health of the nation. 


As for any organisation, the functions of the College of Medicine depend on an efficient management to set policy and an administration to implement those policies. From its beginning, the College has attempted to create a happy, working environment based on arriving at a consensus on key policy issues, and developing a sense of corporate responsibility and loyalty.


The Current Management Team




Dr Mwapatsa Mipando

College Principal

Mwapatsa Mipando is the current principal of the College of Medicine, University of Malawi.   He has previously served as vice principal, dean of faculty, head of department of Physiology.  He has a special interest in building local academic and research leadership capacity that is locally relevant whilst being internationally competitive.  He has managed a number of institutional grants/projects that have benefited the College of Medicine in building critical pool of trained Malawian academics.  Mwapatsa has sat on a number of advisory boards including Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI), Sub-Saharan Africa Medical School Study (SAMSS) and the WHO Expert group on developing Guidelines for Health Professional Training.


He is a trained physiologist having graduated from University of Malawi (Bed in Biology), University of Liverpool (MSc-Physiology) and University of KwaZulu Natal (PhD-Physiology).  He has an interest in Medical Education research and non-communicable diseases with a focus on the usage of traditional medicine in cardiovascular diseases.  He is currently leading the establishment of centre of excellence in non-communicable diseases with funding from NIH and the Scottish government.



Dr Mac Mallewa

Vice Principal







Magret Longwe

College Registrar






Genezio Mugawa

Finace Officer






Prof Kamija Phiri

Dean of School of Public Health and Family Medicine

Kamija Phiri, a professor in Clinical Epidemiology, leads the School of Public Health and Family Medicine. He is an alumni of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and also the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine in the UK where he did his postgraduate studies. He is a recipient for several awards, with the most recent being the 2012 Merle A. Sandee Health Leadership award. Prof Phiri directs the Training & Research Unit of Excellence (TRUE) established in 2009 with field sites in Chikhwawa and Zomba districts in southern Malawi. His research interests are in the control of malaria in children and pregnant women. He is currently leading a multi-centre study (across Malawi, Kenya & Uganda) on the efficacy of intermittent preventive antimalarial therapy in the post-dischargemanagement of children with severe anaemia. He has published widely including in the Lancet Infectious Diseases and the New England Journal of Medicine in the area of malaria and anaemia. He is currently supported by a research team of two postdocs and 8 PhD students. He is an honorary lecturer with University of Liverpool and a visiting lecturer at the University of Zambia.



Prof  Nyengo Mkandawire

Dean of  Faculty of Medicine







Dr Fanuel Lampiao

Postgraduate Dean and Research






Dr Chisomo Msefula

Dean of  Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Health Profession






Joyce K Gondwe

Dean of Students